Chennai Muncipal Solid Waste Management
CMSWPL- Corporation of Chennai
About Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation

Hyderabad is the capital to the South Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. As the largest city in A.P. it occupies about six hundred and fifty square kilometers on the banks of the Musi River. The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) is the government organization trusted with the responsibility of providing basic civic services like roads, water supply & sewerage, health & sanitation, storm water and solid waste disposal etc. to the entire city.

Before the GHMC, the Municipal Corporation of Hyderabad (MCH) was the entity that serviced Hyderabad & Secunderabad. The MCH was formed under the 1955 Act of Hyderabad Municipal Corporation. Later in the year 2007, the MCH was merged with twelve other municipalities (from the Ranga Reddy and Medak districts) to form the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC).

The expansion of city limits and formation of GHMC was to ensure equal development of the surrounding areas, endowing them with the same facilities enjoyed by citizens living within the core of the city.

Jurisdiction of GHMC

GHMC comprises of all the areas that were under the erstwhile MCH.

  • Circle I - Areas under Moosarambagh, Saidabad, Saroornagar, Barkas, Moghalpura, Chaderghat
  • Circle II - Areas under Falaknuma, Zoo Park, Puranapul, Begum Bazaar, Shali Banda etc.
  • Circle III - Areas under Amberpet, Kachiguda, Himayathnagar, Bholakpur, Nallakunta etc.
  • Circle IV - Areas under Golkonda military area, Hakimpet, Mehdipatnam, Mallepally, Langer House
  • Circle V - Areas under Jubilee hills, Banjara hills, Yousufguda, Sanathnagar, Khairatabad etc.
  • Circle VI - Areas under Esamia Bazaar, Agapura, Gun Foundry etc.
  • Circle VII - Areas under Secunderabad Division
The twelve additional municipalities
  • 10 municipalities from Ranga Reddy district:L.B. Nagar, Gaddiannaram, UppalKalan, Malkajgiri, Kapra, Alwal, Qutubullapur, Kukatpally,Serilingampalle, Rajendranagar.
  • 2 municipalities fromMedak district:Ramachandrapuram and Patancheru.
The GHMC is currently divided into five zones (South, East, North, West, and Central), 18 circles and 150 wards.

Zone and Ward Details

Zone Circle No. Name of the Circle No. of Wards Ward No's
East I Kapra 4 1 to 4
II Uppal Kalan 3 5 to 7
III L.B. Nagar / Gaddiannaram 10 8 to 17
South IV Erstwhile Circle - I 25 18 to 42
V Erstwhile Circle - II 14 43 to 56
VI Rajendra Nagar 4 57 to 60
Central VII Erstwhile Circle - IV 16 61 to 76
VIII Erstwhile Circle - VI 3 77 to 79
IX Erstwhile Circle - III 16 80 to 95
X Erstwhile Circle - V 15 96 to 110
West XI Serilingampally (North) 2 111 to 112
XII Serilingampally (South) 2 113 to 114
XIII Ramachandra Puram and Patancheru 2 115 to 116
XIV Kukatpally 8 117 to 124
North XV Qutu-bullapur 7 125 to 131
XVI Alwal 3 132 to 134
XVII Malkajgiri 5 135 to 139
XVIII Secunderabad Division 11 140 to 150


According to the most recent census (2011) the population of the city was 6.8 million while the metropolitan area had a population of 7.75 million, making it India's fourth most populous city and sixth most populous urban agglomeration.

The current scope of GHMC Works

  • Collection via door to door collection of unsegregated waste
  • Pick up of MSW via hook loaders and tippers
  • Operation of an open field transfer station
  • Transport to disposal site.
  • In the past: an operational landfill


In a bid to meet the guidelines set out in Municipal Solid Waste (Management & Handling) Rules 2000, the directives of the Honorable Supreme Court and to upgrade the sanitary conditions of our city to an international standard, the GHMC decided to develop an Integrated Municipal Solid Waste Management Project. To assess the talent and deliver the project to a private operator the GHMC conducted a stringent two stage bidding process. After the bidding process the GHMC awarded the project to Ramky Enviro Engineers Limited (REEL).

HOME | GHMC | HIMSW | Green Products | Gallery | Services | Press Room | Sitemap | Contact Us
Copyright 2022 Hyderabad Integrated MSW Limited. All Rights Reserved. Back to Top